What is the Right Headless CMS?

What is the Right Headless CMS?

How to choose the right Headless CMS for your Project?

ยท

4 min read

Hey, there! This is Kenn, Your Daily Advocate, Business Partner, and Friend from CodeWithKenn! Welcome to the Blog! Make yourself at home!

In this article, we're going to see how to choose the right Headless CMS.

If you're new to the Headless CMS industry, I wrote an article on the subject, you can get it here.

What you're about to read comes from my personal real-world Experiences, it's based on clarity on the issue of the article.

That being said, Let's discover together.

download (1).png

It's Difficult to choose

Working with different clients on different projects, and each project has its own requirements, it becomes harder to pick and choose the best Headless CMS for your Project.

Sometimes, it's because of the complexity of the features a Headless CMS can provide, or the number of Headless CMS available on the market.

Sometimes you have to ask yourself some of these types of questions: What type of project my client needs? An E-commerce Website? A Marketing Website? A Simple Landing Page? Et cetera.

Thus, it's necessary to have a framework of criteria for Choosing a Headless CMS.

Some Criteria to know before choosing

Headless-CMS-Logos-jpg.jpg

Some of the Headless CMS out there

Before Choosing a Headless CMS, it's better to look at these important criteria. Let's go! Talk is cheap!

Features

This is the first thing to verify because each Headless CMS has its specific strengths and weakness. So, you have to choose the CMS having more of what you're looking for. It can be the Image handling part if you're creating or working with Images Galleries, Schedule publishing if you're working on Content Creating (Blogging), and so on.

This is why you have to spend time reading Different Headless CMS features, based on what your project requires.

look-at-me-im-the-favourite-now.jpg

Pricing

You're required to ask the right question about the financial part. Is this project a Hobby or a real Business Project? Do I really want to invest money in this project? Am I going to need a team working? Etc

This gives some special guidelines on how to pick the Right CMS for you.

  • If You're working on a Hobby, It's better to choose the CMS having a Great Free Plan, this won't ask for any credit card.

  • If You're working on a Business Project, You can still go with the Headless CMS having a Free Plan for a couple of months in the Beginning.

  • If you're planning to work with a Team (Editor, Admin, Contributor for example), It's better to get started with an Upgraded Plan, because most of the Headless CMSs don't allow you to add more than two persons in the WorkSpace if you're using a Free Plan.

The User Interface

What makes a Headless CMS Great is the User Experience. AS a Developer, I can't be interacting with a BAD UI/UX Design, because it kills the Developer Experience.

It's not better, but best to choose the Headless CMS which covers the UI/UX requirements, such as Intuitive User Interfaces, Interface Color Management.

I've tried many Headless CMSs, and I never went back to some of them just because the User Interface was ugly and not intuitive.

Developer Relations Team

Not only the UI but also their Developer Relations Team is Great!

I remember working on a Client Project and approaching the deadline, I was going through a serious bug, and I couldn't solve it. It turns out it was an error from the Headless CMS Company, I've reached out to them and never got the answer.

So, I decided to try another Headless CMS (they have a Great Community), and redo all the Backend Structure. One of the Hardest Experiences of my Headless CMS Journey was that I had to suffer a lot before coming to that decision.

A Good Headless CMS must have an active online community (Slack for example) where People connect, help Customers (Developers).

Maybe You can hire me if you want, I've suffered a lot, and I can help you out with your Company. ๐Ÿ˜ƒ

Community

One Word: Community! Not only a Community/Team of the Dev Rel, but also a Community of Customers, and Developers using your platform. If you want to learn more, check ProductHunt Twitter Account. They don't only share about their Product, they also support Developers naturally.

This brings followers and future potential Customers.

Other Criteria

I've given these criteria based on my personal experience; if you want more on the subject, Go Further by Checking some details on this Website

Oh! My preferences?

Stay tuned! I'm writing technical articles on this. If you follow me, You'll discover some interesting articles on how to work with Nextjs, Gatsby, GraphQL, Tailwind CSS, and Headless CMS.

Please make sure to follow me for more. ๐Ÿ™

Will you be interested in working with me? Feel free to contact by the Website:

๐Ÿ‘‰ WebContract.io

Stay tuned! More articles are coming out! Feel free to follow, comment, and share the articles to support me ๐Ÿค™

๐ŸŒŽ Let's connect

Want to start blogging? ๐Ÿ”ฅJoin NOW!

ย